A milkman was asking 50 paise more than the MRP of a milk packet, and woman protested. No, not that she cannot pay 50 paise extra, but she was just exercising her rights as knowledgable customer and inform the milkman what he was doing was not right. And what followed this!! A sheer act of goondagardi, which thrives on our inactivity and ‘why get into trouble..”.

She was abused, threatened by the milkman in public and no one came for her rescue. Read this Blog by an IIM B grad whose wife went through this and how he took on the issue.

She brought to his notice that overcharging is illegal under the Packaged Commodities Rules (PCR), which state that any trader charging more than the MRP mentioned on the package can be prosecuted. Upon hearing this, he turned extremely abusive and verbally assaulted her. He insulted her, threatened her with physical and sexual harm and physically intimidated her. A crowd gathered but nary a person came to her rescue and to restrain the milkman. Like I said, pansies.
I came home later in the evening to find my wife in a heavily distressed condition. Took me a long time to get her to tell me what had happened, after which I went to accost the milkman. He was still abusive, pushed and shoved me around, and asked me to complain to whoever I would and that he would see what I would do……. read more

Updates One , Two, Three, Four, Five, Six, Seven, Eight
Technorati tags: ,

